A New Year and resolutions.

11 Jan

New year’s resolutions.  Believer or non-believer?  Get fit & healthy, quit smoking, lose weight, spend more times on yourself / with your partner / with the kids, find a new job… 

Like a lot of people, I have in prior years attempted many of the above and failed.  I have repeated year after year the “get fit & healthy promise” and I’m still working on it.  This year, I thought I would attempt something that is a bit more interesting to me and I would be more likely to stick with and hopefully accomplish something.

Generally, I’m a fairly decent cook.  I can quite easily whip up a pretty good dinner from whatever is left in the fridge and I enjoy preparing 4-course dinner parties.  I often get compliments from my partner and friends, so I must be alright.  However, my cooking skills are exactly that, cooking.  I cannot bake.  Not that I’ve had much practise, but I really can’t whip up an amazing cake or even half decent cookies!  Maybe my 2012 challenge is to learn how.  I’m living in Europe where some of the best pastry / dessert chefs are in the world and you just have to search on the internet “cooking classes” and there are plenty to choose from just in London alone.  Perhaps, I could learn to become a half decent pastry / dessert cook while living here?

3 Responses to “A New Year and resolutions.”

  1. The Utopia Between Youth and Adulthood January 12, 2012 at 22:54 #

    Sounds like a delicious resolution. I have to say I love baking, especially cakes when they rise (hopefully) I feel like a child because I still think it cool that I made it happen ( or the rising agent did….) My only advice is at no point think about how much fat it takes to make pastries!!

    • learntobake January 12, 2012 at 23:21 #

      Thanks for the advice! I’ll definitely try not to think about it!… or take up running….

  2. Linton Curley January 16, 2012 at 04:37 #

    Start with Scones and work your way up. That’s what I have done! These are the easiest of all.

    Good luck. I’ll read with eagerness your future posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

