Learn to Bake. Running with a new idea.

12 Jan

So I have an idea.  I do have a tendency to get pretty excited about something and go completely overboard and then get bored and not finish what I started.  I have already become quite excited about the idea of learning how to bake and make desserts (as it does involve food!) and right now I do hope that it isn’t just a passing phase.

So this current excitement, was clearly demonstrated today already.  Multiple times.

Early this morning, I organised to record close to 10 cooking shows on TV.  They all involve baking and desserts.  Hopefully, my boyfriend won’t notice that I have used up all the memory on the TV when he gets home later today.

I have also signed up for my first course.  Fortunately for me, there is a well-reviewed baking school walking distance from my flat – so I have signed up to the truffles course next week.  It’s only a couple hours long, so hoping it will be one of their easier classes.

I also spent £80 on baking books, £30 on cooking utensils, £10 on fancy stationery – very important, and £20 on baking ingredients that I don’t even know if I need any of it or not.  Yikes.

  I also bought some salted caramel.  Weirdest concept and I never thought that I would want to try it, but after watching about 3 episodes of various cooking shows in the morning, salted caramel was mentioned twice, adding salt to a dessert once and bacon bits added to a sweet 3 times (all in America, of course!).  So I figured I needed to try this whole salt with my sweet concept.

I don’t usually like mixing sweet with savoury, as I have very strong views on fruit mixed into a main course.  Apricots with chicken, raisins in a tagine, pineapple on a pizza and banana in a curry are very, very big no-no’s in my book.  I just don’t understand fruit in savoury dishes.  Apple sauce with pork is my only exception (that I know of!).

However, what about the reverse?  My thoughts on this are still out with the jury.  Caramel is generally sickly sweet and the stronger salt does take that almost sickly sweet edge off, but I’m not sure that it’s super fantastic.  I’m going to investigate this concept more.

4 Responses to “Learn to Bake. Running with a new idea.”

  1. Brooke January 13, 2012 at 11:22 #

    …I had the exact same thoughts on salted caramel!! My flatmate came home last night with a jar and I screwed up my face with disgust…1 giant teaspoon later and I’m now hooked : )

  2. learntobake January 13, 2012 at 13:55 #

    Let me know what sort of salted caramel it wsa – there is a chance that I just bought a bad product. Would be keen to see what you enjoyed!

  3. Kate January 13, 2012 at 18:38 #

    As the very supportive friend that I am, I just want you to know that you are welcome to use me as a taste tester at any time! (WOW, my kindness knows no bounds!!) I have to disagree with your lack of fruit in mains though – apricot chicken is a winner, as is banana and bacon and I’m sure I’ll think of more soon! Well done on this honey! Have fun 🙂 xxx

    • learntobake January 14, 2012 at 00:43 #

      Thanks Kate! Your taste buds will be required! …. mind you do they work? Apricot chicken?! 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

