English Scones: must use an oven timer

30 Jan

English scones are easy – start with those and then work up from there…. Good advice – except, my baking skills are that bad that I had to have two attempts before I achieved anything that I had hoped.

As I’m baking on a regular basis – I decided for my first attempt, to only make 1/4 of the recipe measurements so that we wouldn’t have so many yummy, yet not the healthiest, food items in the house. It’s a pity that I had to make the scones twice, as this first decision kind of defeated the purpose.

As I was only using 1/4 of the ingredients – it was very quick and I created a total of 2 scones in a matter of minutes. Having learnt that everything must be measured early on – I had to be quite particular dividing all measurements into four.

Into the oven and I carried on with my day – another baking mistake. It’s probably a good idea to start using the timer on my phone, as I completely forgot about the scones and overcooked them by about 5 minutes. I also probably rolled it too much, as the above picture shows, they’re a little thin. They tasted alright, but weren’t exactly a success. Back to the drawing board.

So with the second attempt, I also added cheese to most of the mixture, as my partner only likes cheese scones and therefore, I can share the eating “burden”. This time, they worked.

A little concerning – one of the easiest things to bake and I required two attempts! I think this learning to bake caper will take a few years….

English scones (& cheese scones)

250 gr (8 oz) self-raising flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon butter
1 cup of milk
extra milk for glazing
(+ 2 tablespoons of grated cheese for cheese scones)

Heat the oven to 220 C (425 F). Grease an oven tray.

Sift the flour and salt together. Rub in room temperature butter into the flour. If making cheese scones – add the grated cheese as well. Mix into a soft dough by adding the milk in slowly (may not require all milk).

On a floured surface, knead the dough lightly, not too much so the scones remain light. Flatten the dough with the heel of your hand to approx 1/2″ / 2cm thickness. Stamp out with a scone cutter – or as I used a regular glass dipped in flour. Place on the tray. Glaze the tops with extra milk. Bake for 10 min.

Tip from Kieran: bake the scones close together for extra height.

3 Responses to “English Scones: must use an oven timer”

  1. Christina January 30, 2012 at 21:38 #

    What a great post they look so delicious!! I am definitely making these this weekend. Stop by and say hi, http://saltpepperbrilliant.wordpress.com/

    • learntobake January 30, 2012 at 21:45 #

      Thanks Christina! Hope you have first time success with these! Cheers.

  2. Kieran January 31, 2012 at 03:35 #

    Mmm I just love scones. To get extra height on your scones, cook them closer together. You may have to pull them apart but i have tried and tested and it definitely works

Leave a Reply

