Simple White Loaf of bread

9 Feb

In 2012, I’ve had more sweet baked goods in my house then I have ever had in my life. I have signed up to a half marathon, which should help the waistline during training, however I feel that I may need to add in a few savoury baked goods into the mix to trim the fat, so to speak.

So, I have started with a very basic white bread recipe. It was a really simple recipe and is ideal for weekend baking, it was an absolute success and I’m really happy with it.

It is great to make when you’re at home, pottering / faffing about. With a recipe I found, you don’t actually have to give it much attention, and there is hardly any kneading involved, which I loved.

I followed a recipe that has all the usual ingredients for white bread, however instead of kneading the bread for ages, which tends to be the norm, I used this other method whereby after leaving the bread for 10 minutes, then on an oiled bench / table area you knead the dough, up to 10 times (the dough is turned a quarter, and then knead with one hand, turn a quarter and knead again, etc). Leave for 10 minutes in the bowl under the cloth and repeat twice more.  A little time-consuming, but very easy with not too much effort.  Then you let it raise like you normally would.  I might see if this method works with other recipes.

(Apologies for not being able to keep the recipe within this post – however the editor of the book I used – which I did disclose, asked me to delete it.)

Leave a Reply

