Chocolate Layer Cake

7 Mar

 So it’s my partner’s birthday and for the first time ever, I’ve decided to bake him a birthday cake instead of buying one.  This is my first ever birthday cake and I am a little nervous.

I have been baking for a couple of months now, so I have learnt not to substitute ingredients ever (in these early stages until I understand the science) and to measure absolutely everything perfectly, so I’m hoping this cake will work out well.

I did ask my partner which cake he would like and of course, he chose the most difficult one I have in any of my cookbooks – which includes cutting 2 thin cakes into halves – mmmm.

I must confess, I did start baking this cake a little cocky.  Being a big fan of cooking shows and boring my partner endlessly with them (he has mentioned more than once that even hearing them gets him a little frustrated now, whoops), I have seen that these chefs easily crack an egg with one hand.  As they make it look really easy and I had to crack 3 eggs into the bowl with the egg beater on – so I thought I would give it a go.  Ah.  Yeah.  Not so easy.  I managed to crush an entire egg in my hand and drop some of the eggshell into the bowl.  Not a great start.  I had to quickly turn the egg beater off and out the shells before they were blended into the mix.  Probably should practise that one before doing it for real with a special birthday cake!

 Happy Birthday!

CAKE
2 1/2 cups (375 gr) plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
180 gr dark chocolate
1/2 cup (125 ml) water
3/4  cup (180 gr) butter
1 3/4 cups (150 gr) firmly packed dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 large eggs
1/2 cup (125 ml) plain yoghurt
FILLING
1 1/2 cups (375 ml) heavy / double cream
3 tablespoons confectioners / icing sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup (250 gr) raspberry jam
FROSTING
350 gr dark chocolate
3/4 cup (180 ml) sour cream
1 1/2 cups (225 gr) confectioners / icing sugar

Turn oven on to 350 F / 180 C.  Butter two 9 inch / 23 cm round cake pans.  Line with parchment paper and butter again.

Mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.  Melt the chocolate in the microwave (30 seconds, stir, 30 seconds stir, etc).  Set chocolate aside to cool.

Beat the butter, brown sugar and vanilla in a large bowl with an electric mixer / egg beater on medium speed until creamy.  Add the eggs, one at a time beating until just blended.  Turn the mixer / beater on low speed and slowly add the melted chocolate.  Then add the yoghurt and the dry ingredients.  Divide into the two pre-prepared cake tins.

Bake until cooked for 30 – 40 minutes.  Cool completely on cooling racks.

For the filling: with the mixer / beater on high speed beat all ingredients together until stiff.

For the frosting: Melt the chocolate using the same method as before.  Quickly stir in the sour cream and sugar, not allowing the mixture to cool too much as it will become stiff and difficult to spread.

Assembly: Cut the horizontally.  Place one layer on a serving plate.  Spread with one-third of the raspberry jam and layer of frosting.  Spread one-third of the cream.  Repeat with the remaining cake layers.  Top with a plain cake layer. 

Spread the top and sides with the remaining frosting. 

The cake didn’t last very long at the party in a London pub….Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Chocolate Layer Cake”

  1. smileysoyabean March 7, 2012 at 22:13 #

    Looks beautiful! I sympathize about the eggs, I’ve tried the same thing too and it’s much harder than it looks 🙂

    • LearnToBake March 8, 2012 at 13:08 #

      Thanks! Tell me about it – I’m glad I’m not the only one!

  2. frugalfeeding March 7, 2012 at 23:10 #

    Now that’s a cake and a half 😀

    • LearnToBake March 8, 2012 at 13:07 #

      Thanks! It was enormous and wouldn’t fit into my cake holder properly. It wasn’t easy to carry!

Leave a Reply

