Easy Brioche loaf recipe

22 Mar

The first time I had brioche was in a very cheap hotel in the outskirts of Paris.  It was over 10 years ago and I just thought it was “fancy” toast and I ate about 6 slices every breakfast for the 4 days I stayed there.  I didn’t realise what I was eating until a few years later when a friend of mine introduced me to their “cake bread”.  Ah, that’s what it’s called.  We were both wrong, but right at the same time.

I looked at a few recipes as I was keen for eggy bread / french toast and brioche is the best way (“healthy” way, just how I like it) to enjoy a Sunday brunch at home.  Unfortunately, quite a few of the recipes I found were quite involved, included ingredients that I didn’t have and I’m a big fan of not leaving the house on a Sunday.  Then I found the below recipe.  It took about 5 minutes to get it into the oven.  A little crumbly once cooked – however I was trying to slice it while it was still warm and burning my hands, so if I allowed it to cool, I may not have had the same problem.

175 gr plain flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
175 ml crème fraîche
1 egg, beaten
30 gr caster sugar
1 teaspoon salt
another egg or a little milk to glaze

Turn the oven on to 180 C / 350 F.  Grease a brioche tin or I just used a bread loaf tin, with butter.

In a medium-sized bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and then stir in the crème fraîche.  Add the egg, sugar and salt and mix into a soft dough (I used my hands once it was all combined).  Place the mixture into the pre-prepared tin and glaze with another beaten egg or some milk and bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown.  Enjoy!

8 Responses to “Easy Brioche loaf recipe”

  1. smileysoyabean March 22, 2012 at 22:04 #

    This looks good! I made a brioche type bread a few weeks ago, but it was much more complicated. This is a recipe I’m more likely to actually use 🙂

    • LearnToBake March 22, 2012 at 22:10 #

      Thanks! Give it a try, it was super easy and let me know how you go! Cheers.

  2. Lucy March 22, 2012 at 22:58 #

    Looks delicious! There’s nothing nicer than a heavily buttered, toasted brioche and jam when the mood strikes

    • LearnToBake March 23, 2012 at 07:24 #

      Thanks! It is such a great comfort food, I totally agree.

  3. Desi Chick March 23, 2012 at 02:54 #

    Can you clarify what you mean by Caster sugar?

    • LearnToBake March 23, 2012 at 07:24 #

      In Britian, caster sugar is just the term of very fine white sugar. You can easily make it by placing granulated sugar into a food processor or blender and pulsing until you have a super-fine consistency, but you don’t want it powdery like icing / confectioner’s sugar. Hope this helps!

      • Desi Chick March 23, 2012 at 14:51 #

        Thanks! We call it super fine sugar here!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Loaf Cake « The Irreverent Baker - March 25, 2012

    […] Easy Brioche loaf recipe (learntobake.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

