Searching for that perfect brownie

12 Apr

I’m into month 4 of my baking attempts and I have only attempted recipes which I thought were straight forward and I would be able to achieve.  I also thought that after a few months of experience, I would have learnt a thing or two and my baking skills would have improved.  Mmmm.

Brownies were on my list as an “easy recipe”.  I have just completed my second attempt which tasted amazing, but looked horrendous.  I haven’t taken a photo of them as they don’t look great at all.

But back to my first batch of brownies  that I tried on the weekend.  I used Nigella’s recipe.  Unfortunately, I forgot everything I learnt so far this year and with my cocky attempt, substituted ingredients and didn’t follow the measurements correctly.  Surely I’ve made this mistake often enough!  Apparently not.  They turned out to be very thin and quite dry.

So, I tried Anne Thornton’s recipe today, as I saw her bake them on the TV.  Unfortunately the first step, creating fudge, isn’t as easy as it looks on TV.  After 20 minutes of stirring, I didn’t get a ball of dough and just carried on.  Looking at other online comments, this isn’t an unusual problem.  These do taste absolutely amazing and really are quite fudgy.  Only issue is that they dried quite hard on top and the bottom stuck to the greaseproof paper, so they fell apart or broke in two.

So I will continue my search for the perfect brownie recipe, or rather, I have already found the perfect brownie recipe and just need to have another go at it.  And I thought making brownies would be very easy….

9 Responses to “Searching for that perfect brownie”

  1. smileysoyabean April 12, 2012 at 21:49 #

    Hehehe – I’m pretty sure we’ve all had a few failed brownie attempts. I remember making some with a friend that just wouldn’t set – we ended up just eating the batter out of the tray with a spoon 🙂
    I get a little overexcited about this recipe, it’s my go-to brownie recipe, but if you’re on a quest, this article is definetley worth a read:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2010/sep/09/how-to-make-perfect-brownies
    Happy baking!

    • LearnToBake April 13, 2012 at 06:29 #

      Thanks so much, I’ll have a read and hopefully find some success. Thanks!

  2. Sarah Healy April 12, 2012 at 22:35 #

    I’ve learnt to use baking paper instead of greaseproof paper, it’s a bit thicker so you don’t lift up what you have baked to find that you also take a bit of the paper as well. When baking things like biscuits I can also reuse it for the next tray. Hope that helps for your more sticky attempts!!

    • LearnToBake April 13, 2012 at 06:30 #

      Nice one! I’ll give that a try as well. Thanks!

  3. Teenage Girl Cooks April 13, 2012 at 00:46 #

    I usually love nigella’s recipes, but her brownies always found her brownie recipe disappointing, I wouldn’t bother trying it again – keep searching! 🙂

  4. Patch April 16, 2012 at 19:27 #

    I am also on a quest for the perfect brownie. This is the last one I tried http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1223/bestever-brownies and the best so far I think. Give it a go and see what you think. We christened them Dangerous Brownies due to the possible effects on your health if you ate too many!!!!

    • LearnToBake April 17, 2012 at 08:16 #

      Great, thanks so much for your tip! I’ll try that one after a short break from brownies- I hear you re: health!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That perfect brownie | Learn to Bake - February 18, 2014

    […] a few failed attempts, I’ve finally, finally found that perfect brownie recipe.  It isn’t just me that keeps […]

Leave a Reply

